Uppingham Town Cricket Club’s stars celebrated at awards night

Uppingham Town Cricket Club award winners EMN-141014-115221001
Uppingham Town Cricket Club award winners EMN-141014-115221001
Share this article

Uppingham Town Cricket Club have had a year to remember, winning the Leicestershire and Rutland League Division Three to get promoted and coming runners up in the Rutland League Premier Division.

On Saturday the club’s star performers were recognised at the annual awards night which saw more than 120 people gather at The Falcon Hotel in Uppingham.

Guest of honour was former club captain and player John Clarke who gave an amusing account of his 40 year association with the club before presenting the awards for achievements during a very successful season for the club.

Danny Dumford had a night which reflects his strong season winning the players player award, most wickets for the Saturday First XI and bowling gong for the Sunday First XI.

Saturday First XI captain Martin Bennett was the top batsman and he gave his captain’s award to Harry Wade. The Saturday First Xl bowling award was won by Patrick Latham, with Harry Butchart picking up the fielding prize.

Young player of the year was Sam Hodson and the clubman award was picked up by Jon Wolloff

Top batsman for the Sunday First XI was Max Collins with Alex Ashwin picking up the fielding award.

A full list of prize winners from Saturday nights Uppingham Town CC presentation evening.

Other prize winners were: U-15 Batting - Don Butchart, U-15 Bowling - Archie Roberts, U-15 Players Player - James Cross, U-15 Manager’s Player - Jonty Russell, Len Hall Trophy - Steve Wade, Friday Night Star Player - Pete Smith.

Friendly Xl - Batting - Steve Wade, Friendly Xl - Bowling - Rob Roberts, Friendly Young Player - Ryan Roberts. Dolly Cup - James Lammie, Duck Cup - Tom Runcorn. Burrough League Player - Alex Ashwin

Sunday 2nd Xl Batting - Phil Nichols. Sunday 2nd Xl Bowling - Charles Richardson, Sunday 2nd Xl Fielding - James Cross, Saturday 2nd Xl Batting - Adi Salt, Saturday 2nd Xl Bowling - Will Armstrong, Saturday 2nd Xl Fielding - Kev Bennett.