Thousands witness Women’s Tour of Britain race through Oundle

The start of the Women's Tour in Oundle NNL-150619-123942001
The start of the Women's Tour in Oundle NNL-150619-123942001

Hundreds of people lined the streets of Oundle on Friday morning to see off some of the world’s best cyclists at the start of the Women’s Tour of Britain third stage.

The cyclists raced 138.3km through the Northamptonshire countryside, competing a sprint at Fotheringhay.

They then passed through Nassington, King’s Cliffe, Harringworth and Gretton before tackling the steep climb at Rockingham at about 11.20am, which is one of the hills where riders competed for the Queen of the Mountains competition points.

The race, with more than 100 international cyclists, then headed towards Kettering.

Stage winner was Luxembourg’s Christine Majerus who was first over the line, closely followed by Italy’s Barbara Guarisch and Britain’s Lucy Garner.

Northamptonshire’s Hannah Barnes narrowly missed third position, coming in fourth behind Lucy Garner who also won both Best of British and Best Young Rider jerseys for the day.

The five stage race was won on Sunday by Germany’s Lisa Brennauer who finished fourth in the final stage of the race in Hemel Hempstead, to claim the overall title by just six seconds.

Barnes won a sprint finish in the final stage ahead of Belgium’s Jolien D’hoore and Italian Simona Frapporti.

Women’s Tour of Britain Stage Three result - Oundle to Kettering

1. Christine Majerus (Boels-Dolmans)

2. Barbara Guarischi (Velocio-SRAM)

3. Lucy Garner (Liv-Plantur)

4. Hannah Barnes (United Health Care)

5. Emma Johansson (Orica-AIS)

6. Lisa Brennauer (Velocio-SRAM)

7. Jolien D’Hoore (Wiggle-Honda)

8. Trixi Worrack (Velocio-SRAM)

9. AmalieDideriksen (Boels-Dolmans)

10. Simona Frapporti (Alé-Cipollini)

Final overall classification:

1. Lisa Brennauer (Ger/Velocio - SRAM) 15hrs 3mins 24secs

2. Jolien D’Hoore (Bel/Wiggle Honda) +6 secs

3. Christine Majerus (Lux/Boels Dolmans Cycling Team) +7 secs

4. Emma Johansson (Swe/Orica - Ais) +13 secs

5. Hannah Barnes (Gbr/Unitedhealthcare Professional Cycling Team) +14 secs