Oundle win new Rutland Twenty/20 competition

Share this article

Bourne lost out in their bid to be named the inaugural winners of the Rutland Twenty/20 after losing in the semi-finals of the competition yesterday (Sunday).

Oundle were crowned the champions after a dominant display on finals day at Finedon.

Oundle beat the hosts in the final by 43 runs after seeing off Wisbech in the semi-final by 21 runs. Finedon had beaten Bourne by two wickets in a last-ball decider in the other semi-final.

South African star Petrus Jeftha was named man-of-the-match in the final for an explosive innings of 64 not out as Oundle amassed 178-6 in their 20 overs. Mark Hodgson also scored 64 before leg-spinner Daniel Oldham claimed three wickets as Finedon were dismissed for 135.

Calum Greaves (31) led Oundle’s run to 165-8 against Wisbech. Harry Ramsden took three wickets as Wisbech replied with 144.

The Rutland League introduced a twenty/20 competition for the first time this season. It was completed over successive Sundays.

Semi-final scores:

OUNDLE 165-8 (C. Greaves 31. M. Hodgson 27)

WISBECH 144 (D. Haynes 30, G. Freear 25, A. Lane 25. H. Ramsden 3-25)

BOURNE 131 (P. Morgan 31, C. Louth 22)



OUNDLE 178-5 (P. Jeftha 64no, M. Hodgson 64)

FINEDON 135 (D. Oldham 3-22)