Louth takes advantage of let-off to steer Bourne to win

editorial image

Bourne are a maximum of four points away from their first Lincs Premier Division title for four years after beating local rivals Market Deeping by five wickets at the Abbey Lawn on Saturday.

The win left Bourne 17 points clear with one match remaining, but that game is at Lincoln, the only team that can catch them.

It wasn’t plain sailing for Bourne on Saturday as Deeping, for the second time this summer against these opponents, spilled a couple of costly dropped catches, most notably Conrad Louth who was put down in the slips from the first ball he received.

Louth went on to score 72 and with Carl Wilson adding an unbeaten 40 - he was also missed in the early stages of his innings - Bourne eased past Deeping’s 178-8 to move to the verge of claiming the title.

“The best team usually wins the league,” admitted Deeping skipper David Gillett. “But we should have beaten them twice this season.”

Gillett, who has endured a lean year with the bat by his lofty standards, top scored for Deeping with 43, but his side are now in the bottom half of the table.

Poor winless Billingborough lost again on Saturday, this time by six wickets at home to Lindum.

Billingborough were put in to bat and struggled to get going. Jonathan Miles was top scorer with 46 as the side was bowled out for 145 in the 40th over.

The visitors raced along to their required target to finish the game in the 26th over on 149-4.

Will Taylor (41) and Karanjit Bansal (50) were the men to get the bulk of the runs.

There was mild controversy at the end of Spalding’s game with Louth. An accidental beamer bowled by Charlie Kearns in the final over prompted the umpires to abandon play for bad light with Louth 167-9 chasing Spalding’s 182.

Thivanka Rajaratne (52) top scored for Spalding - England Ladies international Arran Brindle top scored for Louth with a patient 51.



Market Deeping 178-8 (D. Gillett 43, M. Adatia 27, B. Moynan 25, C. Cheer 4-41).

Bourne 180-5 (C. Louth 72, C. Wilson 40no).


Billingborough 145 (J Miles 46)

Lindum 149-4 (J Peatman 4-52, J Miller 4-22)