Bourne’s Flo Brill just misses out on first

Bourne Town Harriers in action at Bourne Woods in the Frostbite League EMN-161002-165213001
Bourne Town Harriers in action at Bourne Woods in the Frostbite League EMN-161002-165213001
Share this article

A total of 186 athletes successfully completed the 1.5mile junior course at Bourne Woods, a race for both boys and girls up to 17 years of age.

It was comfortably won by Hunts AC’s Joey Croft, with Jonathan Oakley of PACTRAC second.

Harvey Hancock from Werrington, Codi-Leigh Middleton of Nene Valley, and Yaxley youngster Alexander Devine all made the top 10, while Shannon Flockhart (Hunts AC) was the leading girl just ahead of PACTRAC’s Bourne Grammar school girl Flo Brill.

Leading the way for Bourne Town Harriers was Molly Peel who finished in 16th place in a time of 10:58. She was the third girl to finish the race. She was followed by Max James in 19th place and Elin James in 31st and the seventh girl overall.

Connor Ely was an impressive 47th in a time of 11:59. Alex Galpin and Charles Harrison had their own personal battle finishing in 58th and 59th positions respectively in the same time of 12:18. Ben Conrathe was 66th in a time of 12:29, two places ahead of Tallulah Spurdens whose time was 12:34.

Joseph Moisey and Abi Cooper battled to the line in 76th and 77th places with times of 12:48 and 12:53. Molly Bennett finished just outside the 13 minute mark in 86th. Grace Tidman and Ellie Peel both finished inside the top 100 in 91st and 96th respectively.

Benedict Everist was 106th in a time of 13:46. He was followed by Ben Fahidy in 115th and a time of 13:53. Holly Griffen was 125th and Emilie Comben 127th. Another couple of athletes to finish in the same time were Dan Galpin and Lewis Hammond who finished in 136th and 137th places. They were followed up the home straight by Rebecca Hughes in 140th and Sian Manzur in 14:48.

Joe Fahidy was 174th in an excellent time of 17:23. Ben Moss’s time was 18:10 in finishing in 178th place. The final personal battle was between Sam Oke and Harry Cocking who both ran excellently to finish in times of 19:06 and 19:24 respectively.