Beadle back on top at Burghley after eight years

George Beadle EMN-140729-154033001
George Beadle EMN-140729-154033001
Share this article

Burghley Park’s Club Championship weekend took place in perfect golfing weather, with hard running fairways and quick greens which tested the skills of the club’s top golfers.

Both the Ladies and the Men play the event over 36 holes, with the Ladies playing over two days and the Men playing 36 holes on Sunday.

The Junior Championship was over 18 holes on Sunday.

As ever, competition in the Men’s event was intense, and the standard of golf high.

At the end of the morning round three players shared the halfway lead on gross 72, George Beadle, aiming to 
retain the title he last held in 2006, Junior’s Captain Dean Vaughan going for his first 
title, and Andrew Frisby.

Reigning Champion David Scott was well-placed for a second round surge, sitting three shots behind the leaders on 75.

Beadle, playing off scratch, started with three pars 
before wobbling on holes 4 and 5 with a bogey and a double, then steadying the ship with 5 pars and a birdie. Bogeys on 12 and 13 cranked up the pressure again, but a strong finish with 3 pars then 2 birdies saw him come in on 2 over par gross.

Vaughan, off 5, dropped a shot on the first but then played really steady golf with a run of 10 pars and a birdie, to sit on level par with 6 to play. However, he ran into trouble on the back nine par 3s, with bogies on 13 and 16, to end 2 over and in a share of the lead.

Frisby was the third player in the halfway lead, also dropping a shot on the first but getting it back on 2, then settling into a run of pars before dropping shots on 9 and 10. A par on 11 and a birdie on 12 got his round going again, but a bogey on 14 took him back level with Beadle and Vaughan.

Beadle and Frisby were again paired together for the final round, ensuring that it was almost played as a matchplay event.

Vaughan started more slowly in his second round, with a double on 2, and bogeys on 5 and 6 slipping him 4 shots behind Beadle, and though he then settled down to a run of pars, further bogeys on 12 and 13 ended his challenge this year, and he came in with a round of 75 for a total of 147, which gave him third place.

Further down the field, late runs from Junior Sanjay Nithiyilingam and past champion Nick Glover, who had shot 76 and 77 in the morning respectively, almost got them on the podium, as both shot excellent net 72s to end in 4th and 5th places with totals of 148 and 149.

But the main event was the afternoon shootout between Beadle and Frisby, which proved to be tight all the way.

Both started par birdie, but Frisby slipped out of position on the 4th and ended with a bogey, whilst Beadle snatched a birdie to take a two- shot lead.

They then matched scores for the next seven holes, before a two-shot swing on the 12th saw them back to level, as Frisby birdied and Beadle bogied. The par 3 13th had been causing problems all day, and again showed its teeth, as Beadle bogied and Frisby doubled, to put Beadle 1 in front again.

Frisby got one back on the next, before bogeys on 15 and 16 dropped him back to 2 behind again. However, a birdie on 17 gave him the honour on the last and they went down the 18th with Beadle just one shot ahead.

Frisby was green high in 2 on the par 5 last, but amongst trees, whilst Beadle was unable to go for the green and had to pitch on for three. When his ball somehow held up in the fringe topside of the green it looked as if a playoff could be in prospect, but Frisby turned out to be blocked and took 2 shots to get within 3 feet of the pin for 4.

Beadle somehow manufactured a subtle chip that left him a tricky 4 foot putt across the slope for victory, and then showed nerves of steel to sink the putt and reclaim the title he last held eight years ago.

He finished with another 72, to give him a total of 144, two ahead of Frisby on 146. The crowd applauded a fine performance by both players.

The good performances saw several handicap cuts, with Frisby coming down to 2, Dean Vaughan to 4, Jake Brown to 4, Nithiyilingam to 5, and Mark Yarham to 5.