Celebrations as Bourne Town Juniors FC and players win awards

Bourne Town Football Club youth section awards night EMN-140907-183522001
Bourne Town Football Club youth section awards night EMN-140907-183522001
Share this article

Bourne Town Juniors Football Club recently held its annual presentations ceremonies at the Corn Exchange in Bourne with more than 200 players aged between six and 18, plus parents and families celebrated their success - and the club also won an award.

All players received a trophy to celebrate the 2013/14 season, and there were also individual Player of the Year awards.

Special guest Peter Camm, area delegate for Lincolnshire Football Association, also attended the event to present the club with its FA Charter Standard Community Club award.

Chairman Steve Moss and President Ian Sharkey received the plaque from Mr Camm on behalf of the club.

The FA Charter Standard is a national Club Mark scheme that recognises commitment to providing safe, enjoyable and professional grassroots football opportunities for the youngsters in the local community.

Club Secretary Rick Bishell said: “All of us at Bourne Town Juniors FC are very proud to have achieved Community Club status, which is the top rung of the Charter Standard ladder. A huge thank-you to all players, supporters, coaches and committee members for their hard work.

The club has since received three more significant honours, in recognition of its achievements in the 2013/14 football season.

The first was the Peterborough & District Youth Football League Chairman’s Award, followed by the Peterborough & District Junior Alliance League Chairman’s Respect Award.

The club then received notification of a third and very prestigious award, the ‘Lincolnshire FA Charter Standard Club of the Year’, which will be presented at a ceremony in Lincoln in August.

Mr Bishell added: “When we received notification of the Lincs FA award so soon after receiving the two League acknowledgements, it was a very surreal moment for us all.

“To achieve recognition by the FA as one of the top junior football clubs in Lincolnshire, especially considering the vast number of clubs in the north of the county, is amazing.

“Everyone associated with the club and with the town of Bourne should feel very proud.”

Bourne Town Juniors is a fully voluntary organisation and this year it will enter a record 19 youth teams into four leagues for the 2014/15 season and may see a record membership of up to 300 players.

In addition, a brand new under-6 squad has recently been formed, which has already attracted 25 boys and girls from the town and surrounding villages.

The club has also maintained close links with Bourne Ladies FC for many seasons, and 2014/15 will also see strengthened links with Bourne Town FC.

For more information about becoming a player or volunteer visit www.bournetownjuniorsfc.co.uk, or email secretary@bournetownjuniorsfc.co.uk

The young winners of the individual awards were, in order of Manager’s Player of the Year, Players’ Player of the Year, Most Improved Player of the Year, Supporters’ Player of the Year:

Under-8: Ryan McPherson, Dylan White-Morris, Cameron Rosam-Goodwin, James Carey

Under-9 Red: Mason Bussey, Eddy Coster, Thomas Eadie, Eddy Coster

Under-9 Claret: Finley Thomas, Jack Golding, Samuel Rudd, Jack Golding

Under-10: Corey Stevenson, Alfie Courton, Edward Cooke / Ethan Turner, Edward Cooke

Under-11 Blue: Alex Pimblett, Louis Jones, Charlie Halsey, David Turner

Under-11 Red: Adam James / Tom Cameron, Taylor Dean, Joe Couzens, Taylor Dean

Under-12 Claret: Josh Hammond, John Pitts, Jared Miller, John Pitts

Under-12 Red: Aidan Harrold, Josh Dilley, Ewan Thomas, Josh Dilley

Under-13: Brandon Loveridge, Luke Glover, Matthew Holmes, Brandon Loveridge

Under14: Jack Hinks, Ben Moss, Joshua Lavery, Ben Robinson

Under-15 Red: Scott Hardwick, Dan Dorcheh, Josh James, Dan Dorcheh

Under-15 Blue: Cavan Gaunt, James Youds, Jack Sparks, James Youds

Under-16: Scott Buxton, Louis Steadman, Joshua Henson, Jimmy Morten

Under-16 Girls: Alisha Fleet, Laura Clarke, Charlotte Patchet, Laura Clarke

Under-18: Jake Dilley, Kurt Storey, Joe Harrington.