Polls open for Aveland ward by-election


Voters are going to the polls to select a new councillor for a vacant district seat.

A by-election is being held today (Thursday) in South Kesteven District Council’s Aveland ward, which covers the Rippingale and Aslackby area, after Debbie Wren resigned earlier this year.

Two candidates are standing for election. John Morgan, of Harrowby Road, Grantham, is the Labour Party’s choice, while Peter Moseley, of East Street, Rippingale, will stand for the Conservatives.

Votes will be taken between 7am and 10pm at the following polling stations:

- The Church of St James the Great, Aveland Way, Aslackby

- Dowsby Village Hall, 23 Main Road, Dowsby

- Dunsby Village Hall, The Cross, Dunsby

- Kirkby Underwood Village Hall, The Green, Kirkby Underwood

- Pointon Village Hall, Millthorpe Road, Pointon

- Rippingale Village Hall, Station Street, Rippingale